An independent and central repository of national aged care data, the holdings are complex and include:

  • a relational database comprising 70+ tables, most relating to aged care programs under the Aged Care Act 1997
  • activity data for residential aged care programs, community-based aged care packages, Transition Care program (TCP), Aged Care Assessment Program (ACAP), Aged Care Funding Instrument (ACFI), Home and Community Care (HACC) and Commonwealth Home Support Program (CHSP)
  • recipient details, payment subsidies, and service (facility/provider) details.

Data are refreshed annually (including full replacement of historical data) by the Department of Health and are sourced from Human Services payment systems, centralised client record systems and minimum datasets.

Collection details

Temporal coverage 

from 1 July 1997 to 30 June 2017

Geographical coverage


Data availability

  • Publications
  • Summary tables published in electronic form
  • Statistics
  • Client specified tables on request which may be subject to data provider approval (charges apply)
  • Restricted unit record access subject to Ethics Committee approval and/or the agreement of all relevant data custodians in all states and territories (charges may apply).

Data scope 

All activity in Australian Government-funded aged care services, including assessment, community-based care and residential aged care. Details available on providers and recipients.


Admin data

Metadata information and data quality statement (DQS) 

No formal metadata at the data item level exists.

A DQS is available for the Data Clearinghouse as a whole, and for Aged Care Funding Instrument (ACFI) data.

External links and information 

About the aged care data


[email protected]