Appendix 5 — Board members 2006-07

AIHW Board

Board member	Number of meetings attended	Eligible meetings
The Hon. Peter Collins, AM, QC, BA, LLB Board Chair	4	4
Adjunct Professor Heather Gardner, BA (Hons), MA, FAIEH (Hon) Ministerial appointee	3	4
Mr Ian Spicer, AM, LLB, FAIM, FCIM, ACIS Ministerial appointee	3	4
Associate Professor Kerry Kirke, AM, MD, FAFPHM, (RACP) FRIPH Ministerial appointee (until August 2006)	0	0
Dr Greg Stewart, MBBS, MPH, FRACMA, FAFPHM Ministerial appointee	3	4
Mr David Kalisch, BEc (Hons) Deputy Secretary, Department of Health and Ageing representing Ms Jane Halton Secretary, Department of Health and Ageing	4	4
Mr Dennis Trewin, BSc (Hons), BEc, MSc Australian Statistician, Australian Bureau of Statistics (until December 2006)	1*	2
Mr Brian Pink, BComm Australian Statistician, Australian Bureau of Statistics (from March 2007)	2	2
Ms Sandra Lambert, BA, Dip Teaching CEO, ACT Department of Disability, Housing and Community Services Representative of the Community Services Ministers' Advisory Council	3	4
Mr Peter Allen, BA, Dip Journalism Under Secretary, Policy and Strategic Projects, Victorian Dept of Human Services Representative of the Australian Health Ministers' Advisory Council	4	4

(continued)

AIHW Board (continued)

Board member	Number of meetings attended	Eligible meetings
Dr Owen Donald, BA, PhD Director of Housing, Victoria, and Executive Director of Housing and Community Building Representative of the state housing departments	4	4
Dr Sandra Eades, BMed, PhD Expert in public health research (from 1 September 2006)	1	4
Ms Chrysanthe Psychogios, BA Staff representative <i>(until April 2007)</i>	2	3
Mr Daniel McCarthy, BA Staff representative (from May 2007)	1	1
Dr Penny Allbon, BA (Hons), PhD Director, Australian Institute of Health and Welfare	4	4

^{*} The member was not present but his representative attended. Note: A representative of the Secretary, Department of Family, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs attended and participated in Board meetings. The National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) and the AIHW have reciprocal arrangements to observe AIHW Board and NHMRC Council meetings, respectively.

Short biographies — current position and affiliations of Board members as at 30 June 2007

PETER COLLINS

The Hon. Peter Collins was appointed Chair of the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare in 2004. He is also Chair of the Cancer Institute (New South Wales) and St John Ambulance NSW. Peter Collins is a Director of HostPlus Pty Ltd and a board member of the Workers Compensation Insurance Fund Investment Board and Macquarie Generation, both positions appointed by the New South Wales Government, He is a Commander in the Naval Reserve Support and Director of the Naval Reserve Support (NSW).

HEATHER GARDNER

Adjunct Professor Gardner is a political scientist who has taught health policy and politics to health science students for many years, first at the Lincoln Institute of Health Sciences, then at La Trobe University, where she was Foundation Head of the School of Public Health. She is Associate Editor of the Environmental Health Journal.

IAN SPICER

Mr Spicer is Chair of the National Youth Careers and Transitions Advisory Group and the Reconciliation Place Steering Committee. He is a member of the Australian Government's Welfare to Work Consultative Forum and was formerly Chair of the National Disability Advisory Council. Mr Spicer is also currently the Deputy President of the Metropolitan Fire and Emergency Services Board (Victoria) and has almost 40 years experience representing Australian business.

GREG STEWART

Dr Stewart is a public health physician and is currently the Director of Population Health, Planning and Performance at Sydney South West Area Health Service.

DAVID KALISCH

Mr Kalisch is a Deputy Secretary in the Department of Health and Ageing with responsibility for Portfolio Strategies Division, Acute Care Division, the Mental Health and Workforce Division and the South Australian and Western Australian State Offices of the Department.

BRIAN PINK

Mr Pink was appointed the Australian Statistician in March 2007. He is Vice Chairman of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Committee on Statistics, President of the International Association for Official Statistics for the 2005–2007 period and Australia's Head of Delegation to the United Nations Statistical Commission.

SANDRA LAMBERT

Ms Lambert is the Chief Executive Officer of the Australian Capital Territory Department of Disability, Housing and Community Services. Her responsibilities include public housing, disability services, community services, child protection, youth justice, child care licencing and multicultural affairs.

PETER ALLEN

Mr Allen is the Under Secretary, Portfolio Services and Strategic Projects in the Department of Human Services and the Victorian Government's Chief Drug Strategy Officer. He is a Director of the Australia and New Zealand School of Government, Vice President of the Victorian Division of the Institute of Public Administration Australia and a Board member of the Victorian Institute of Forensic Medicine.

OWEN DONALD

Dr Donald is the Director of Housing, Victoria, and Executive Director Housing and Community Building, Department of Human Services. He is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and the Australasian Housing Institute.

SANDRA EADES

Professor Eades is a medical epidemiologist with a special interest in paediatric and perinatal epidemiology, and is the first Aboriginal medical doctor to be awarded a PhD. She is a Senior Research Fellow in Aboriginal Health at the Sax Institute in Sydney and is a Conjoint Professor in the Faculty of Health Sciences at Newcastle University.

DANIEL MCCARTHY

Mr McCarthy has worked in the AIHW People Unit in various capacities for the past three and a half years.

PENNY ALLBON

Dr Allbon was appointed as Director of the AIHW in February 2006.

Ethics Committee

Committee member	Number of meetings attended	Eligible meetings
Chair		
Mr Robert Todd, AM, LLB (Melb), BCL (Oxon) Barrister and Solicitor Supreme Court of Victoria, of the Middle Temple, Barrister-at-Law	4	4
Members		
Dr Siew-Ean Khoo, AB, MSc, DSc (Harvard) (until 30 November 2006)	2	2
Dr Ching Choi, BA, PhD (from 4 December 2006 — replaced Dr Siew-Ean Khoo)	2	2
Mr John Turner, DIP PUB ADMIN, FAICD (until 30 March 2007)	3	3
Mr John Buckley, BA (Hons) (from 31 March 2007 — replaced Mr John Turner)	1	1
Ms Kathryn Cole, BA (Hons), LIB	4	4
Rev. Dr Wesley Campbell, BA (Hons), DipTheol, BD (Hons), DTheol	4	4
Ms Janet Kahler, BA, ALAA	4	4
Dr Wendy Scheil, MBBS, FAFPHM, FRACGP, MAE, DTMEH	4	4
Ms Val Edyvean, BA, MAPsS	4	4
Dr Penny Allbon, BA (Hons), PhD	4	4

Audit and Finance Committee

Committee member	Number of meetings attended	Eligible meetings
Chair		
Mr Ian Spicer, AM, LLB, FAIM, FCIM, ACTS (until December 2006)	4	4
Chair AIHW Board		
The Hon. Peter Collins, AM, QC, BA, LLB	2	2
Member		
Mr Peter Allen, BA, Dip Journalism	3	4
Ms Heather Gardner, BA (Hons), MA, FAIEH (Hon) (from December 2006)	2	2
Dr Owen Donald, BA, PhD (from December 2006)	2	2

Note: The Board Charter of Corporate Governance was amended following the December 2006 Board meeting to reflect the decision of members that the Audit and Finance Committee membership will consist of four non-executive members and will no longer include the AIHW Board Chair. Heather Gardner and Owen Donald were appointed members at the December 2006 Board meeting and Peter Collins attended meetings up to the December 2006 Board meeting.

Remuneration Committee

Committee member	Number of meetings attended	Eligible meetings
Chair		
The Hon. Peter Collins, AM, QC BA, LLB	3	3
Member		
Mr Ian Spicer, AM, LLB, FAIM, FCIM, ACIS	3	3
Mr Peter Allen, BA, Dip Journalism	2	2

Note: Peter Allen was appointed as the third Remuneration Committee member at the December 2006 Board meeting.