Jurisdictional RHD control programs and registers

Under the Rheumatic Fever Strategy, the Australian Government provides funding to support RHD control programs in 4 jurisdictions: Queensland (Qld), Western Australia (WA), South Australia (SA) and the Northern Territory (NT). These programs:

  • identify people with or at risk of ARF and RHD
  • promote primary prevention of ARF
  • support the delivery of long-term secondary prevention treatment
  • increase awareness of ARF and RHD among health professionals, and provide education about these diseases to health professionals, patients and their families and communities
  • maintain disease registers for people diagnosed with ARF or RHD, and use this information to monitor health outcomes and improve control program activities.

Information from the ARF/RHD registers in these 4 jurisdictions are compiled by the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW) to provide information about ARF and RHD in Australia. The Australian ARF/RHD guideline describes a set of indicators recommended for monitoring ARF and RHD. This web-report presents data on those indicators that are currently able to be reported, including characteristics of people with ARF and RHD, geographic distribution of people with diagnoses, receipt of secondary prevention and use of surgical interventions.

Although an RHD control program and register also operates in New South Wales (NSW), this program is not currently covered under the Rheumatic Fever Strategy. Data from NSW are included as a standalone section.