The AIHW was established as a Commonwealth statutory authority in 1987. The composition, functions, powers and obligations of the Institute are set out in its enabling legislation, the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare Act 1987 (AIHW Act).

Here are some other Australian Government Acts and regulations that affect our work:

The AIHW Act establishes a Board as our governing body. The Board is accountable to the Parliament of Australia through the Minister for Health. The Act specifies the composition of the Board, which is headed by a Chairperson.

AIHW Board members

Mrs Louise Markus

Dr Erin Lalor
Deputy Chairperson

Mr Barry Sandison
Chief Executive Officer, AIHW

Ms Christine Castley
Nominated by State Health Minister

Ms Marilyn Chilvers
Nominated by State Health Minister

Ms Christine Gee

Mr Romlie Mokak

Dr Christine Pascott

Mr Michael Perusco

Ms Cathryn Ryan

Dr Simone Ryan

Dr Zoran Bolevich