We have about 600 staff, most in Canberra and some in Sydney.

Our staff are skilled in:

  • statistical analysis
  • epidemiology and demography
  • information development
  • data management
  • communication
  • public sector administration.

The Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW) is headed by a Chief Executive Office (CEO) and is divided into 10 specialist groups.

AIHW organisation chart (PDF 108KB)

Australian Institute of Health and Welfare

  • Mr Matthew James, Acting Chief Executive Officer and Board member
    • Board Secretary & Executive Officer (Ms Amber Jefferson)
    • General Counsel (Ms Clare Sorensen)

Deputy CEO Group

  • Ms Louise Gates, Acting Deputy Chief Executive Officer
    • Centrelink & Palliative Services (Ms Karen Higgins, acting)
    • Flagship Reporting (Ms Simone Brown)
    • Mental Health Analytics & Reporting Service (MHARS) (Mr Jason Thomson)
    • Mental Health Information & Evidence Refinement & Validation (MHINERVA) (Ms Amy Young)
    • Suicide & Self-harm Monitoring (Mr Chris Killick-Moran)

Business & Technology Group

  • Mr Andrew Kettle, Group Head
    • Financial & Commercial Services (Mr Andrew Tharle)
    • People & Facilities (Ms Sandra Bailey)
    • Chief Technology Office (Ms Kim Riley)
    • IT Applications, Databases & Security (Mr Simon Hilton)
    • IT Business & Development (Mr Walter Sung, acting)
    • IT Operations & Platforms (Mr Gavin Thomson)

Community Services Group

  • Ms Louise York, Group Head
    • Aged Care Data Improvement (Ms Penny Sui)
    • Ageing & Aged Care (Ms Leah Newman and Mr Dinesh Indraharan, acting)
    • Disability (Mr Sam Chambers)
    • Family, Domestic & Sexual Violence (Ms Sally Mills)
    • National Disability Data Asset (Ms Rebecca Hurley)

Primary Healthcare, Information Standards & Communications Group

  • Mr Michael Frost, Group Head
    • Communications & Engagement (Ms Rebecca Richter)
    • Metadata, Information Management & Classifications (Ms Vicki Bennett)
    • My Health Record Data (Mr George Bodilsen)
    • Practice Incentives Program Quality Improvement (Mr Conan Liu)
    • Primary Health Care Data Development (Ms Cassandra Gligora)
    • Web, Publishing & Data Visualisation (Ms Cherie McLean)

Data Governance & Integration Group

  • Claire Sparke, Group Head
    • Data Linkage Services (Mr David Braddock)
    • Ethics & Privacy (Ms Katy Wilson, acting)
    • Governance & Client Services (Ms Natalie Cooper)
    • Integration Development (Ms Miriam Lum On)
    • National Integrated Health Services Information (NIHSI) & National Health Data Hub (NHDH) (Ms Caitlin Szigetvari)

Health Systems Group

  • Ms Bernice Cropper, Group Head
    • Analysis Support (Ms Jen Mayhew-Larsen)
    • Health Economics (Mr Geoff Callaghan)
    • Hospitals Data (Mr Brett Henderson)
    • Injuries & System Surveillance (Dr Heather Swanston)
    • Performance Analysis & Reporting (Ms Clara Jellie)

Housing & Specialised Services Group

  • Dr Gabrielle Phillips, Group Head
    • Child Welfare (Ms Anne-Marie Rushby)
    • Housing & Homelessness Collection Operations (Dr Ailsa McManus)
    • Housing & Homelessness Collection Processing (Ms Joanne Groube)
    • Housing & Homelessness Reporting & Development (Ms Nikki Schroder)
    • Justice & Education (Ms Amanda Donges)
    • Tobacco, Alcohol & Other Drugs (Dr Louise Tierney)

First Nations Health & Welfare Group

  • Dr Fadwa Al-Yaman, Group Head
    • Burden of Disease (Ms Tracy Dixon)
    • Eye, Ear & Hearing Health (Ms Jo Baker, acting & Arus Sevoyan, acting)
    • Health Performance Framework (Ms Jessica Cargill)
    • Mental Health & Suicide Prevention (Ms Pooja Chowdhary, acting)
    • Primary Care Reporting (Ms Felicity Murdoch)
    • Regional Insights (Ms Chun Oberst)
    • Spatial Analysis (Dr Martin Edvardsson)

Population Health Group

  • Mr Justin Harvey, Acting Group Head
    • Burden of Disease & Mortality (Ms Michelle Gourley)
    • Cancer Data & Monitoring (Mr Andrew Phillips, acting)
    • Cardiovascular, Diabetes & Kidney (Ms Heidi Dietz, acting)
    • Chronic Conditions (Ms Katherine Faulks)
    • Dementia Data Analysis & Reporting (Ms Melinda Leake)
    • Dementia Data Improvement (Ms Melanie Dunford)
    • Population Monitoring & COVID-19 Data (Ms Vanessa D'Souza, acting)
    • Prevention & Environmental Health (Dr Vanessa Prescott)
    • Screening Analysis & Monitoring (Ms Moira Hewitt)

Priority Populations & Capability Group

  • Dr Adrian Webster, Group Head
    • Defence & Veterans' Insights (Mr Paul Pham)
    • Maternal & Perinatal Health (Ms Jacqueline Rek)
    • Perinatal Data (Ms Deanna Eldridge, Ms Louise Catanzariti, acting)
    • Specialist Capabilities (Mr Sachind Naidu)